Federal Government To Concession Eight Hydropower Dams

The Federal Government said it has set aside eight hydropower dams for concession in order to improve electricity generation.
The government said the hydropower dams will be handed over to the unnamed companies soon.
Assistant Director, Hydropower in the office of Federal Ministry of Power, Works and Housing, Mr. Abubakar Aliyu, made this known when officials from the Federal Ministry of Water Resources carried out a familiarisation tour to Bakolori Irrigation Scheme in Talata Mafara, Zamfara state.
Aliyu said the ministry of power, works and housing are partnering with Federal Ministry of Water Resources to increase power generation in Nigeria.
His words, “Eight hydropower dams have been earmarked to be concessioned on power generation. It will take effect soon.”
The Project Coordinator, Transforming Irrigation Management in Nigeria (TRIMING), Mr. Peter Manjuk, said about six states will benefit from the irrigation project.
The states include Zamfara, Sokoto, Kano, Katsina, Jigawa and Gombe.
He said the project is targeted at rehabilitating all existing dams to make them meet irrigation and hydropower needs of Nigeria.
He said the dam was faced with a low workforce, due to retirement, and infrastructure vandalisation, calling for improved security to reverse this trend.

Leave a Reply